King George Chase - Jockeys

We feature three jockeys who acquitted themselves with much distinction in the King George Chase at Kempton Park Racecourse. All three jockeys were or are amongst the very best and all are worthy of high praise.

Richard Dunwoody

Richard Dunwoody, regarded by many as the most stylish jockey ever has been on board the winner of the King George Chase on no fewer than four occassions, twice with One Man in 1995 and 1996 and twice with King George Chase Legend, Desert Orchid in 1989 and 1990. Dunwoody was also Champion jockey on three occassions and has won the Queen Mother Champion Chase, Cheltenham Gold Cup on Charter Party and the Grand National on West Tip and Minnehoma.

John Francome

John Francome rode the winner of the King George Chase on two occassions, firstly on King George Chase Legend Wayward Lad for trainer Monica Dickenson in 1982 and he followed that up with a win on Burrough Hill Lad two years later in 1984 for trainer, Jenny Pitman. In his career as a jockey Francome rode a total of 1,038 winners, his last being in April 1985. He was also Champion Jockey on seven separate occasions.

Ruby Walsh

Winner of the last four King George Chase’s on Kauto Star, Ruby Walsh has rightly eaned himself a reputation as one of the best National Hunt jockeys of all time. Stable jockey to Champion trainer, Paul Nicholls, Walsh has won the Grand National twice, the Cheltenham Gold Cup, the Queen Mother Champion Chase and the Arkle Chase, the only big one missing is the Champion Hurdle.


Your bet is on!

Bet Slip (0)
Balance: £0.00
Remove all
The line, odds or availability of selections has changed.
Please review your betslip.
Total Stake: £ 0.00
Estimated Returns: £ 0.00
Bets are accepted in accordance with the operator's rules
and terms and conditions. Hillside (UK Sports) LP is licensed
and regulated by the British Gambling Commissioner
(Licence number 39563). Registered Office Hillside (UK Sports) LP
(registration number 117), Unit 1.1, First Floor, Waterport Place,
2 Europort Avenue, Gibraltar.