King George Chase - Trainers

There are many trainers that deserve accolades for their training achievements in the King George Vl Chase. We have selected just three however to highlight but all three have left an indelible mark on this great race. See the King George Vl Chase Roll of  Honour.

Francois Doumen

Francois Doumen, probably to the annoyance of home based trainers, has earned a reputation for raiding the UK and winning the King George Chase and other big races, he has so far been successful five times with four different horses. He first did this in 1986, when he brought Nupsala over to claim the race. The Fellow followed suit with back-to-back wins in 1991 and 1992 before landing the Cheltenham Gold Cup in 1994. Algan was his next winner in 1994; he then won again in 2000 with the outstanding First Gold. Fortunately for home trainers he has not entered a horse in the race this year.

David Elsworth

David Elsworth is now a successful Flat trainer, but earned a huge reputation as a brilliant National Hunt trainer, before switching codes. He is best known of course as the trainer of the King George Chase Legend, Desert Orchid, who won the race four times in a five year period. He first won with Desert Orchid in 1986 with top King George Chase Jockey, Richard Dunwoody on board, and then won three years in succession in 1988, 1989 and 1990. Desert Orchid also won the Cheltenham Gold Cup in 1988. Elsworth also trained winners of the Grand National with Rhyme and Reason in 1988, the Queen Mother Champion Chase in 1989 and 1990 with Barnbrook Again and he also won the 1989 Hennessey Gold Cup in 1989 with Ghofar.

Paul Nicholls

Already a training legend, Nicholls has won the King George Chase five times already and is looking for a six timer this year with Kauto Star who is favourite this year to land a 5th successive victory, See 2010 King George Latest odds. The champion trainer has also won the race twice with See More Business in 1999 and 1997. He has top King George jockey, Ruby Walsh on board Kauto Star again this year. Nicholls has also won the Cheltenham Gold Cup with Kauto Star in 2007 and with Denman in 2008. Nicholls has already earned his place in the King George Vl Chase History.

New posts have just been added
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.